Author Topic: Pre-Medical; what do I do with my retirement accounts?  (Read 4589 times)

MidwestGal

• Stubble
Pre-Medical; what do I do with my retirement accounts?
« on: May 28, 2014, 08:00:22 AM »
Howdy fellow Mustachians,
I struggled with whether to post this here or on the medical community website I'm a part of, but I figure that you all would give me a more financially sound answer to my question.

I'm a non-traditional student in my very early 30s.  I have just over 24 months of veterans education benefits left, and have been working full time with a full class load and a family.  My 'stache sits in a Roth, 401(k), and taxable stocks.  The reason I originally wanted to post this on the medical site is because they've got a really good idea of the 'hidden' costs of trying to get to medical school.  Just the medical admissions tests and the applications and interview season can run well into the thousands of dollars, which is not considered necessary for the purpose of student loans.  I plan to take the admissions test in early 2017 and apply that summer.  In the meantime, I will reduce my work hours and eventually stop altogether, leaving me more dependent on my other half (who is in a contracted position) to focus on keeping my grades at the level they need to be.  My personal savings will cover roughly 4 months of everyone's expenses, including debt payments and student loans.  I've considered the D.O. path but am set on being an M.D. which generally requires a higher test score and GPA level.