Author Topic: Praxis II, discrete math?  (Read 1237 times)

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Praxis II, discrete math?
« on: May 26, 2020, 07:58:35 PM »
Hello mustachians,
I'm studying to become a highschool math teacher. Right now I'm going through the math playlist from kahn academy.  I finished arithmetic, pre-algebra, algebra 1 and geometry. Next I will do algebra 2 and precalculus. I hope to take praxis 1 this summer. Then take a calculus class for credit in the fall.

After that I'm not sure how to study for praxis II. When I look over the subject matter for the test one of them is discrete math. When I looked up discrete math it said it was math that is not continuous. That's not helpful. Can someone point me in the right direction?

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Praxis II, discrete math?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2020, 08:59:13 PM »
I'm not a math teacher, but I did take a discrete math class once. I think this outline on Wikipedia is a good place to start.

secondcor521

• Walrus Stache
  • Big cattle, no hat.
    • Age of Eon - Overwatch player videos
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2020, 11:30:35 PM »
This isn't the question you asked, but have you asked the high schools in the areas where you want to teach what course of study you need to follow in order to become a high school teacher?

In my corner of the world, I believe you need to get a bachelor's degree in education with at least a minor in math, complete a student teaching semester at a high school in math, and obtain some sort of state certification.  I don't think the Khan classes would count towards any of that, although it may be a good brush up before starting a college degree in that direction.

I agree with seattlecyclone's link about discrete math.  As a (possibly helpful) analogy, discrete is like turning the light on and off whereas continuous is like turning a dimmer switch.

mozar

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2020, 10:37:41 AM »