Author Topic: Practice Change - Considering Going In-House  (Read 10239 times)

specialkayme

• Bristles
Practice Change - Considering Going In-House
« on: February 05, 2018, 08:26:17 AM »
I'm contemplating a career change, and was hoping to get a little advice from some of the other attorneys in the audience.

I graduated in 2011 from a mid to low level law school and immediately took a position with a 10 attorney firm I was interning for, practicing in bankruptcy law. I progressed up the associate ladder fairly quickly and in January of 2016 I made income partner. With the change from a W2 to a K1, between the raise I negotiated and self employment taxes, I was getting paid about the same as a partner as when I was an associate, but I have an opportunity to share in 10% of the firm's profits (I have to hit a collections number and the firm has to hit an overall profit number before I can share).

Bankruptcy is a cyclical practice area, and we're at a 60 year low in bankruptcy filings. To make ends meet, I do some tax (which I do NOT enjoy), some general business representation, and a little civil litigation (which I despise) to round out the lows of the bankruptcy practice. About a year ago the bankruptcy "spigot" got shut off. I have very little bankruptcy cases now. The low filings have shoved out alot of the competition in the area out of business, which is good when bankruptcy comes back. But until then I'm stuck doing cases I do not enjoy, which doesn't pay very well.

I wasn't aware of it at the time I made the deal, but the firm isn't throwing off excess cash, although it has in years past. In 2015 the firm had to miss some tax draws. In 2016 there was a small distribution. In 2017 there was a missed tax draw. 2018 is too soon to tell, but it looks like it will be about the same as 2017. There are years in the past that each partner walked away with $150k+, on top of their draw, but that was when bankruptcy was more prolific.