Author Topic: Post-Ph.D. job hunting and salaries  (Read 10333 times)

physistachian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Post-Ph.D. job hunting and salaries
« on: August 11, 2015, 08:54:04 AM »
Hello, Mustachians! I'm a long-time lurker, but this is my first time actually posting. I'm hoping to find a little advice on my job hunt, so here are the details.

I'm closing in on the end of a (seemingly never-ending) Ph.D. in experimental physics at the beginning of my thirties. When things settle a little bit, I hope to post a case study to make sure I'm moving in the right direction, but for now I'm concentrating on starting a real career. After seeing the state of the academic job market (abysmal), and realizing that I wanted more control over my destiny and geographic location, I've started looking for so-called "industry" positions. These could be private research or engineering, but many positions I've found seem to be related to scientific equipment sales. I am focusing my search in the northeast, since that's where I would like to be living.

My specific question is: what kind of starting salary should a new-minted Ph.D. be getting in the private sector, and in this region? Academia has such bizarre pay structures (often abusively low) that I have a poor sense of my value in the market. Sales roles, in particular, are a little hard for me to evaluate. If you have walked a similar path, any other input would be welcome, too! And if I can add detail or clarify, I'm happy to do so.

Thanks!

vhalros

• Bristles
Re: Post-Ph.D. job hunting and salaries
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2015, 09:36:44 AM »
Do you have any programming skills (many physics PhDs end up with some, depending on the track they take)? I think I could get a job right now by standing in the road with a sign that says "I know how to use semaphores."  The market is such that you might get a position even with out a CS background, if you can demonstrate some programming skills.