Author Topic: possibly moving to Kauai  (Read 9143 times)

clarkfan1979

• Magnum Stache
possibly moving to Kauai
« on: June 20, 2015, 02:16:31 PM »
I am a finalist for an instructor position at Kauai Community College. I was told that I will hear back late next week. If offered the job, I will probably be given 3-5 business days to make a decision. I was wondering if I could get some help on a pro/con list.

I'm 35 and my wife is 31. We don't have any kids, but hopefully in the next 1-2 years. We are currently full-time residents of Florida and part-time residents of Denver. We spend 3.5 months of the summer in Denver. I am a prof and my wife works retail. We don’t love Florida, but my dad is retired and lives 25 minutes away, which is nice. My wife’s family lives in Denver.

My current base salary is $42,600 and $48,000 with a summer course. I get a 5.14% employer 401K contribution. Based on my current position, I would top out at 52,000/year base salary, which is low. My wife currently works about 25 hours a week and makes $20/hour for a total of 25,000/year.

My starting salary at Kauai CC would be around $54,000 with a similar option to teach one extra class for a total of $60,000. They have a mandatory 3-4% raise every year based on years of experience and an additional 8% for promotion. As a result, I would top out around 115K – 120K. The current highest paid prof makes 130K because they most likely have the most years of experience.

Kauai CC is a pension and not a 401K. You get a small automatic pension without contributing your own money. You get a larger pension if you contribute your own money. I think the small automatic pension is similar to the 5.14% 401K employee contribution at my current school.

It looks like a first level 2 bed/2 bath condo with small yard is around 1500/month, within 1 mile of campus. There is a Costco near the college in Lihue, HI with great reviews. I would be riding my bike to campus and we would have 1 car.