Author Topic: Possibly buying a house! Need advice on passive solar heat  (Read 3314 times)

bbates

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Possibly buying a house! Need advice on passive solar heat
« on: February 17, 2014, 09:00:21 AM »
Hey guys, I'm brand new here (to the forum) and this is my first post.

My wife and I are looking a buying a certain house and I'm wondering about passive solar heat.  I'm relatively new to the concept so I can't quite wrap my head around it all yet.  We've lived in an apartment for 6 months that stays at 70 degrees (F) inside with no heat running while it's -15 outside.  It's really amazing, but I've become quite spoiled to the low heating bills.  I don't want my electricity bills to skyrocket (although I'm sure they'll go up some) just because I bought a crappy house.  Here are some stats of the house, any advice?  Anything stand out to you?

<1,400 sq ft
2 story
Brick
Corner lot, full brick wall gets southern exposure.  No trees, no houses, just sky.
A few decently sized windows on the southern wall that shine into living room and kitchen.
Forced air heat
No A/C (may get this installed if we can't take the summer and to add value to home)
Dry, Colorado climate
When we went for the showing, it was about 60 degrees(F) outside, but probably 10 degrees cooler inside.  Is that a good or bad sign on insulation?

I'm sure I'm forgetting something else, but on first glance, what does this look like to you?

FrugalSpendthrift

• Stubble
Re: Possibly buying a house! Need advice on passive solar heat
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2014, 09:28:08 AM »