Author Topic: Pondering quitting my corporate job, advice  (Read 6680 times)

MasterStache

• Magnum Stache
Pondering quitting my corporate job, advice
« on: March 17, 2016, 12:06:04 PM »
Without going into minute details, I am really burned out with my corporate desk job. I have been an engineer for only about 9 years. But it's the only time in my life I've had jobs where I simply sat behind a desk and stared at a computer screen all day. I feel like I can't handle much more of it.

I've done the math and if I quit my job, my wife can reduce her savings to nothing and we can pay all our bills and satisfy our modest spending with only her income. Right now we have about 260K in various (mostly tax deferred) accounts. We have a mortgage and no other debt. We are both about to turn 40. We have two kids ages 11 and 6. My wife likes her job and is perfectly fine continuing to work. She gets no company match, but does get a pension. Her plan is to work until 50, at which point her pension is north of 200k.

By my calculations,  if we don't save another penny, in 10 years (using rule of 72) our retirement accounts will be worth roughly 500K plus the 200K pension. However..... I fully intend to get a part time job and/or do odd jobs for supplemental income. I don't want to fully stop saving money. I also have the luxury of being very marketable with my skill set and if things didn't seem to be working out, I wouldn't worry about finding another full time job. 

I am seriously considering this, just wondering if anyone else has done something similar or thoughts in general. My job is starting to take a mental toll on me.   

ysette9

• Walrus Stache
Re: Pondering quitting my corporate job, advice
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2016, 12:30:15 PM »