Author Topic: Pls help Roth vs Traditional IRA for a personal IRA  (Read 3210 times)

Peej17

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pls help Roth vs Traditional IRA for a personal IRA
« on: July 13, 2017, 10:24:17 AM »
Hello,

I'm new to the Mustachian community. Been pretty frugal my whole life and didn't realize it before but I've always wanted to retire early. Didn't know how to get the ball started in that regard until recently. Now I'm getting all the information I can and making all the necessary changes I can.

With regards to changes, I had opened an IRA account with Chase and was under the assumption that it would be distributed into mutual funds but that wasn't the case. I have a traditional 401k at my job and so the money I deposited into the personal IRA account is technically "tax-free" however the account type is a traditional IRA :( 

In effort to make my money start working for me I'm planning to move the funds to Vanguard. However, I'm unsure of how to proceed. Do I choose a personal Roth IRA and pay taxes on the money at chase while I transfer it over or keep it as a traditional IRA when I move it over to vanguard?

I'd hate to pay taxes twice.

nawhite

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Reckless Choice
Re: Pls help Roth vs Traditional IRA for a personal IRA
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2017, 12:59:02 PM »
Short answer is "for most people planning on early retirement, a traditional is almost always better than a Roth"

The Medium answer is "If you have access to an HSA, it is better than either, fund that first. After that, it depends on your income now, your expected expenses and income in retirement, how far you are from retirement, and how you expect tax rates to change between now and your retirement, but in most cases for an early retirement person with relatively stable tax rates, a traditional is a better bet"

Long answer: Just read the MadFIentist's post on it: http://www.madfientist.com/traditional-ira-vs-roth-ira/