Author Topic: Please help - mortgage question  (Read 3589 times)

Orin!

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Please help - mortgage question
« on: July 28, 2018, 03:00:22 PM »
I have a good credit score with plenty of credit cards, high limit ones as well.

I have little experience with loans, but the experience that I have they usually ask for evidence of income whereas credit cards don’t. Credit cards go more on just your credit history and score. My oldest card is over 15 yers old and I have perfect payment history. I also got a couple of secured loans to diversify my credit portfolio. I also got a loan for a motorcycle and then paid it off after six months. The motorcycle loan did not ask for evidence of income.

Anyways - I am trying to find out how I could get a mortgage on a first house property. I would do this for the low interest rate available on mortgages and then I would rent the house out.

But to be honest - my proveable income is low. But my credit report history is excellent. So that is why I am wondering how to get a mortgage without them asking for evidence of income.

I would not actually be living in this house as I have a separate place I live for free.

Seems like a good investment to get a 150k house @4% interest, rent out for $1,200 a mo. $6000 interest a year. $700 property tax. Take 14.4k in rental income - net about 7k a year.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Please help - mortgage question
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2018, 04:48:28 PM »
But to be honest - my proveable income is low.
Put yourself in the lenders' shoes: would you loan a large amount of money to a stranger with little "guaranteed" income for repayment?

Having said that, perhaps the best thing for you to do is start with the bank holding your primary checking/savings account, and ask the loan department about their procedures.  Then try some other lenders, both local and national, for comparison.

Orin!

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2018, 04:57:10 PM »