Author Topic: Please help me understand phone financing  (Read 2352 times)

financier

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Please help me understand phone financing
« on: December 28, 2016, 02:33:11 PM »
Hey all,

I'm a college student. I work part time and during the summers, so I have some income, and I'm looking to use some of that income to buy a new mobile phone.

All my previous phones were purchased with AT&T's two-year contract subsidies, but apparently the Wireless market works differently now from before. I want a Google Pixel, and either I can buy that for $650, or finance it with 24 payments of $27.04. Now, I have the requisite cash sitting in my bank account right now, but it seems to me that the obvious better choice would be to throw that $650 into SCHB or similar and do the payments, since the financing is at 0% APR. That said, I have little prior experience taking on debt (excepting college loans, but I'm not making payments on those yet), and I'm afraid there's a catch somewhere. What to do?

marty998

• Walrus Stache
Re: Please help me understand phone financing
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 03:20:27 PM »
$27.04 per month would just be the handset.

How much does the monthly data plan cost?

Daley

• Magnum Stache
  • Still kickin', I guess.
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2016, 03:27:42 PM »
Maybe you should give this a read before you plunk down any money.

$650 for a phone is ridiculous. Financing for that phone is equally ridiculous with a monthly payment that costs more than many people on these forums spend for their mobile service alone in one month.

There is a difference between need and want, and you will never save any real money until you learn the difference.

financier

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2016, 05:14:18 PM »
Fair point - the monthly plan is pretty important here, isn't it?