Author Topic: Please help me job craft my new- and IT-ish role in healthcare  (Read 1574 times)

lilactree

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Please help me job craft my new- and IT-ish role in healthcare
« on: October 08, 2018, 03:04:06 PM »
First, if anyone is reading this, thank you, and second, please accept my apology in advance as I am afraid I might not keep up with quick replies and proper etiquette as much as I would like, as in addition to full time work and parenting a little, I am also dealing with medical/disability issues and truthfully am having trouble keeping on top of things quickly. -- I also don’t have a dishwasher. -- But I will eagerly read everything and respond when I get chances to sit at my (personal) computer.

I work for a healthcare system in an HCOL area in the United States. My background is in public health + social science research methods. I was in a different department at my current employer for several years, and a lot of the work included data analysis. When a new Analytics service was developed I moved departments, with everyone’s blessing, as it seemed like it would be a perfect fit. In fact, early on I was approached by the person (temporarily) in charge of setting up the Analytics service at the time because some people in the organization suggested he evaluate whether I could fill the director position. He and I had agreed it would be a big stretch but it wouldn’t hurt to apply. I applied without specific expectations, and was offered one of several informaticist roles which I accepted enthusiastically.