Author Topic: Please help - concerned for a family member's financial well-being  (Read 2751 times)

nanana13

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Ever since waking up financially (almost two years now), I have come to notice more things that my parents do (financially speaking) that really make me worry for them. Well, to be honest, their money management has never stood out as particularly good to me, in fact, I was probably bad with money in the first place due to their example. But, that is neither here or there.

I have tried to offer my help to them (I'm a CPA) by offering to do a detailed budget and helping them plan, but it goes ignored. Alas, here is their situation.

- Mother is stay-at-home-mom (never got her HS diploma and doesn't speak English well), step-dad is 69 years old and plans to work for the next five years (he's in good health, and I cross my fingers that he continue to be)
- Step-dad makes income of about $150K
- Step-dad has zero in retirement savings outside of social security (he had 401K and pension balances from previous jobs which he took out and used to pay for other things like down-payments on homes, etc.)
- Signed a 30-year-mortgage (yes, at his age) in late 2015 for about $400K. Total monthly payment is a couple hundred dollars short of the max amount under SS
- Does not plan to stay in this home, only for the next five years until he retires which he claims he will then sell and downsize to a smaller home
- Took out SS early this year, which will make his income subject to tax due to his job's earnings
- Sometime in 2014/2015, financed a BMW (sigh) for about $40K or $50K. This is after he finished five years paying $700/month for a different car. My mom enables this by saying he "deserves it"