Author Topic: Please Critique Our Budget (Paying off Student Loans While Saving for House)  (Read 3592 times)

ReadySetMillionaire

• Handlebar Stache
Background
I have been dating my girlfriend for about a year and a half now and we are planning to spend the rest of our lives together. We are 27 but at different stages of our careers--I am an attorney that just started (making $47,500 per year) and she is a Speech Language Pathologist making about $67,000 per year (three years into her career). We have dabbled in sharing personal finance books and have reviewed our budget on about a quarterly basis, but I just recently revealed to her that my ultimate goal is to retire somewhere between 45 and 50.

However, because we have massive student loan debt (see below) and also would like to buy a modest but nice home sooner rather than later, working towards retirement is going to take a while. And that's perfectly okay with us, because neither of us want to retire as quickly as possible.

We would appreciate your critique of our budget and financial strategies.

Goals Ranked in Order of Importance
(1) Get out of student loan debt by the time we are 33-34 (6-7 years from now)
(2) Purchase a home in the near future, probably by age 30 (very important to us)
(3) Pay off mortgage by 38-40
(4) I want to retire somewhere between 47-48, whereas she wants to work a bit longer because she loves her job and being active.

Monthly Income
Gross Annual: $114,500
Monthly Take-Home: $5942 (assuming two paychecks)

Income/Benefits Breakdown
Me: $2642/month; contributing $0 to 401k because company puts in 3% regardless of whether I contribute and doesn't match over 3% (this money is better spent to go towards student loans). Also contributing slight amount to HSA (100% up to employer match).