Author Topic: Please check my FIRE math  (Read 6684 times)

elaine amj

• Walrus Stache
Please check my FIRE math
« on: November 16, 2015, 07:19:20 PM »
I found goldielock's bucket calculation method from another thread and thought it made a lot of sense, especially in terms of thinking about how much I would need at each phase of our retirement. Like goldielocks did, I calculated from Phase 4 backwards.

I'm not very good at this math so I would really, really appreciate help from MMM'ers to check my calculations. Is $500k + CPP/OAS/pensions REALLY all I need to retire 3 years from now?

Phase 4 (75 - 95) *note: updated to increase desired income from $27k to $35k*
My CPP $3765 + OAS $6839 = $10,604/year
DH's CPP $2465 + OAS $6839 = $9304/year
DH's old US Defined Benefit Pension = $3360/year
DH's new Cdn Defined Benefit Pension = $4000/year
(both pensions have 100% survivorship rights)
Total $27,268
Extra desired income (for $35,000 total): $7732
Money needed to fund 20 years at $7,732, with the total invested at 4% moderate conservative asset mix, net of inflation.

= PV(rate, nper, pmt, FV, beg/end)
=PV(0.04,20,-7732,0,0)
= $105,080 at age 75.

Money in today's dollars : (has 30 years to compound until age 75, again at 4% interest net of inflation).
=$32,398.13

PHASE 4 -- Money needed in today's dollars: =$32,398

Should be plenty for this stage in our lives. We will also likely get some GIS supplements. And whatever is leftover from our other phases plus our paid-off house which we are not including in our savings calculations. Best of all, all this income is regularly adjusted to cost-of-living.

*note: our CPP estimates are low because I was a SAHM for many years - only 7/8 yrs of working life under my belt. DH worked in the US for most of his career. If we retire in 3 yrs, he will only have 4 yrs of working life in Canada under his belt.

Phase 3 -- Age 65 to 75  Slowing down, but still travelling
DH's CPP+OAS+ both pensions: $16,664