Author Topic: Please Advise! Student Loans? Down-payment? Baby?  (Read 7756 times)

rozsi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Please Advise! Student Loans? Down-payment? Baby?
« on: February 19, 2016, 05:54:12 PM »
I'm new to the MMM forum so thank you all so much in advance for your help, and I'm sorry if this topic has already been addressed.

So here are my stats:
-27, work full-time as an archaeologist/environmental scientist
-Likely baby on the way by the end of 2016
-Partner is a full-time graduate student with a small amount of income--due to graduate in Fall 2016 (also an archaeologist)

-Student Loan debt: $32,000
-Savings: $10,000
-401k: $6,000
-No other debts

Income: 58k before taxes (until 2014 was closer to $25k/year (archaeology=lowest pay for most education input: thanks, grad school!)

Costs
-Rent: $1050/month (sometimes split with partner)
-Utilities: ~$120/month (sometimes split with partner)
-Car insurance: ~$60/month
-Health insurance: $68/month
-Phone: $15-20/month (switched to Republic thanks to MMM!)

I currently work full-time, but I am struggling to determine how I should handle that income in light of near-future goals. Until this point I have been trying to aggressively pay off my student loan debt paying a minimum of $600/month and up to $1000/month for the past several years (I started off at $55k  4 years ago). Now my partner and I want to start a family. Assuming that happens in the next year, I want to cut down my hours to part-time after the baby comes and stay home with the kid. And to be honest, I have no real intention of going back to full-time work after that. This means that I have approximately one year left of working at this income level. I assume my partner will get a full-time job when he finishes grad school, but it will likely not be high-paying if it's in the archaeology sector. We keep our finances separate at this point in time, but would come together on a down payment.