Author Topic: Planning to get an MBA. Is it worth it?  (Read 2548 times)

jamesbond007

• Pencil Stache
  • One penny at a time.
Planning to get an MBA. Is it worth it?
« on: August 15, 2019, 11:50:15 AM »
Some context:

I have a Master's in CS and I've been in the tech industry for about 11 years in a Product Manager role. I am stuck in this and am burned out as there is no career growth happening. Pretty much every title upwards needs an MBA. Getting interviews is getting harder and harder. Not to mention the age-ism that is prevalent in tech.

Due to reasons above, I've been thinking about getting an MBA part-time, while I am working full time, to propel my career further. That would cost me another $100K or so and about 3 years worth of time. It could set back my FI plans by about 4 more years. But I need a change. The only problem is I am on a Visa and mobility would be a big issue until I get through the green card system.

I don't know what to do.

partdopy

• Stubble
Re: Planning to get an MBA. Is it worth it?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2019, 01:04:39 PM »
It seems odd that any upward growth from product manager necessitates an MBA for you.  I'm attending a professional MBA program for Enterprise IT Management at the moment (funded by my GI Bill), and I'm actually in the same program as 4 people with whom I work, the VP of IT Strategy and 3 department directors, all of which are higher level than product manager.

While you may be right that it will propel your career forward, is that really worth setting your long term goals back 4 years?  If I were you, I'd try to change employers locally to one that will pay for your education.

foghorn

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2019, 01:23:28 PM »
That is a great question.