Author Topic: Planning to buy house with sister who has a small chance of getting divorced  (Read 2471 times)

rarnaldo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hoping from some advice from fellow mustachians that have more life experience than I do! Really appreciate any advice y'all may have.

TL;DR version up front: I'm (31 yr old male; Texas) in the process of buying a house, and everything will be in my name. My sister (27 yrs old) is planning to contribute 20-25% to the down payment, but she could potentially be getting divorced in the next 1-2 years. I want to make sure I'm protecting myself in case something goes awry. Any suggestions?

Longer version:

About 4 months ago, my sister and brother-in-law proposed the idea of going in on a house together as an investment. I liked the idea because I've been renting for the past 10 years and am ready to invest in real estate, but I definitely don't need a whole house to myself. My brother-in-law also owns a roofing company and has several contracting connections for any repairs/renovations we need to do. Our plan was to find something that was sound structurally but needed lots of cosmetic updating.

After getting out of a long-term relationship myself, I moved in with them temporarily while we started the house hunting process. About 2 months into the process, they started having some semi-serious marriage issues (nothing major such as physical abuse or cheating; they're just questioning if they're hindering each other's long term happiness) and are currently going through counseling. I'd say there's only a small chance that they end up getting divorced, but it's a possibility.