Author Topic: Planning ahead - Auto Detailing this summer  (Read 6034 times)

GoStumpy

• Stubble
    • YNAB = The ultimate budgeting software
Planning ahead - Auto Detailing this summer
« on: January 05, 2013, 09:53:49 AM »
Hello everyone!

Every winter I have regretted not doing more side-jobs during the summer for extra money... This winter I've turned my financial views around, and now I realize the power a second job has, especially one as lucrative as auto-detailing.  I've been doing it since 2004, from 2005-2007 I did it almost full-time (3 days per week) and made good money at it, with a large base of clients, it was going very well with referrals... every job I got was a referral from the last one...

Then I moved, and I lost all of my contacts, and I'm starting from scratch in a new city with little to no friends or family here... I've developed a lot of great friendships, which has resulted in a few details (3/year?). 

The part I enjoy the most, and what I focus on, isn't the cleaning part, but the near-perfection polishing... I've been using both rotary & orbital polishers since 2005 and as my Dad always said, they have become an extension of my arm... Layman terms are "power polishing"...  Here's an example of post-polishing:

I charge anywhere from $80-$100 for a basic wash, wax, interior clean, and polishing + cleaning, ie, full detail, ranges anywhere from $200 for a smaller car to $300 for a larger truck.  These jobs take me anywhere from 3-6 hours.  I try to average $50/h, that way if it goes longer I'm not feeling like I'm losing money.

Here are the issues:

- Mobile only.  I don't have a garage at home, and I can no longer use my Dad's glass shop like I used to.  I have a few glass shops around here offering, which is an option, however I feel like they should be compensated for allowing me use of their shop, key, etc...