Author Topic: Petty office power struggle - let it go or stand my ground?  (Read 4428 times)

Rowellen

• Bristles
Petty office power struggle - let it go or stand my ground?
« on: November 13, 2017, 07:40:08 PM »
Background
I'm an accountant. My position is the highest in the office. If something goes wrong is my arse on the line. I'm quite particular about things where it matters.

We've recently changed software so some of the reports produced are slightly different. CW1 asked about a couple of reports. Last year these reports included middle names. Now they don't. I explained to her that it didn't matter. Yesterday CW2 asked the same questions. I explained it again. She insisted she wanted it changed because "it was there last year" and "bossman will notice". I politely refused.

Later in the day I got an email from the office manager.  Basically saying I need to listen to CW2 and fix the issues. So then I was pissed because CW2 has gone over my head.

I replied explain the issue (again!) And stated flat out that I would not be changing it. I thought my email was quite polite and reasonable. It was certainly nicer than my first draft which was a very toned down version of what I was thinking  (tell CW2 to go fuck herself).

I got an email back today saying it wasn't ok to say I wasn't going to do it.

By now I've spent more time stewing on this than it would have taken to fix it but now it's a matter of principal. I believe CW2 is out of line and on a power trip (it's not the first time).  The problem is petty and irrelevant (it's a fucking middle name on a non-legal document FFS.)  But I'm very conflict adverse and will be leaving in the new year anyway. They don't know that though. I feel bullied by CW2 by her behaviour. I have FU money but I doubt they'd fire me. I'm replaceable but not easily.

Should I let it go or stand my ground? What would you do?

Lady SA

• Pencil Stache
Re: Petty office power struggle - let it go or stand my ground?