Author Topic: Personal Loan/Line of Credit  (Read 8806 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Personal Loan/Line of Credit
« on: June 03, 2012, 05:14:04 PM »
Anyone have any experience getting a personal loan or line of credit recently (not HELOC)?

Any company recommendations or other advice?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Zoot Allures

• Stubble
Re: Personal Loan/Line of Credit
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2012, 09:36:37 PM »
Do you bank with a credit union? My credit union gave me a 10k line of credit at 6.25% when I signed up.

Mike Key

• Stubble
  • Entrepreneur & Adventure Seeker
    • Tiny House - Big Backyard
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2012, 11:19:41 AM »
Yup, credit union is the way to go. I rebuilt my credit with Personal Loans. I started with a $2500.00 personal loan. Put it right into savings and setup automatic payments so it would be paid off in 10 months. Then I went and got another loan for $5000.00 and paid that off over another 10 months.

TLV

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2012, 02:00:10 PM »
+1 for credit unions. I got a $1k LOC as an unemployed teenager from mine. I've never used it, but it's more than twice as old as anything else on my credit report.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2012, 07:02:15 PM »
I'm not looking to build my credit, I have excellent credit.  I'm looking for a loan for certain investment opportunities that are presenting themselves.