Author Topic: Pension considerations when considering a new job  (Read 1941 times)

msinca

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pension considerations when considering a new job
« on: April 04, 2019, 10:07:32 AM »
Hello there.  I've been a long time reader of MMM but this is my first question so forgive me if its already been asked and answered.  Sorry for the long post...

I currently work for a county in CA which has a defined benefit pension (70% of salary at age 65).  I've been working there for about 14 years and have about 11 more to go before I can start collecting the pension in 2030.  Based on my current salary and what I expect to be earning at retirement, that yearly pension payment should be around $150K per year.   

I have recently been offered another job in another state to work for a company with no pension.  The proposed salary ($225K) is much higher than my current salary ($150K).  All the other benefits are comparable (vacation, medical, 401K, etc...).  There is a relocation package so I don't think I will lose any money there.  I also know the cost of living in the other state will be less than CA but let's keep that out of the equation for now.  I also realize that my annual raises might make that $75K difference even larger in the future but, again, let's ignore that for easy of calculations.  Lastly, I like my current job and location but I also think I'll like the new job so ignore any 'qualitative' considerations for now.

I'm trying to figure out whether this is a good financial move.  Here's what I came up with (which is probably wrong):

Value of Pension (Using Excel Present Value formula):
If I assume 150K from Age 65 to 85 (20 yrs), with a conservative discount rate of 5%, the present value at 65 is $1.87M.  If I bring that back to current value (today 2019) that is about $1.092M. 

Present Value of Extra Salary:
Assume $75K extra for the next 11 years.  Present value is $623K.