Author Topic: Payoff debt or Invest!!  (Read 1123 times)

hustlehex

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Payoff debt or Invest!!
« on: August 22, 2019, 11:29:41 AM »
Hey everyone -

I'd love to get some feedback and thoughts on next steps and where to go from here. 
I've been working on real estate investments for the past 10 years.  Buy & Hold and recently got into fix and flip.

Purchased home in 2016 and rehabbed.  Moved in for 2 yrs and recently sold. 
I purchased another home in 2018 and paid cash (by borrowing from friends and family).  I have paid them back (from house above) and own the home free and clear.
I've spent the last 9 months rehabbed the home and have accumulated about 60K in debt. House is worth about 370K. 

While I'd like to pay off the remaining debt, I'm thinking of pulling a HELC on primary residence to purchase a multi-family building.  By investing, $100k for a downpayment and $50k in repairs, I can purchase a building and cash flow about $1500 - $2000 per month (if bought correctly). 

There's guys like DR who suggest that we should payoff all debt first before investing in wealth.  I think there is more that one way to financial independence. 

Any feedback or thoughts would be appreicated!!

RWD

• Walrus Stache
Re: Payoff debt or Invest!!
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2019, 11:52:55 AM »
Investing first is usually preferred. Lots of variables though. What are your interest rates? Do you have access to a 401k (or equivalent)? Employer matching? HSA? etc.

Take a look at the Investment Order post.

TheHardenedInvestor

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2019, 01:04:32 PM »
Maybe consider a plan like this:

mastrr

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2019, 10:48:52 PM »
I'm sure you may be familiar with this but wouldn't you calculate your cash on cash return by taking your worst case cash flow for the year $18,000 ($1,500 x 12 months) and divide by $150,000 (total investment) which is a 12% return.