Author Topic: Paying rent with credit card to earn sign up bonuses. Worth $40 convenience fee?  (Read 2166 times)

fizzgig

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I was considering using about 4 cards per year that I would pay my rent with to earn the sign-up bonus on a few cards. If I use a credit card to pay my rent online, it's $40 extra. I've never tried using the bonus points thing before, I assume I would use them for mostly hotels, cash back, or occasional air fare. Is it worth paying $480 a year in convenience fees to earn about 4 different sign up bonuses? Can I expect a much greater value on the points earned? My rent is 1825 per month.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2018, 08:35:07 AM by fizzgig »

netskyblue

• Pencil Stache
Without knowing how much your rent is or how much you get back in points, that's an impossible question to answer.

If it's a 2% rewards card, and your rent is $2000, you'd be breaking even.  (2% of $2000 is $40)

GizmoTX

• Handlebar Stache
No, a 'convenience fee' is rarely worth it, especially $40. Find other expenses that don't charge a fee to get a credit card bonus.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
Nope see my signature - it will show you how to make money meeting your sign up bonuses not cost you dough!

netskyblue

• Pencil Stache
At $1825 rent, you'd be charging $1865 with the convenience fee.  Anything less than ~2.15% rewards and you'd be losing money.

Catbert

• Magnum Stache
If you get 4 new cards a year and only use the cards in order to meet the minimum spend, it could be worth it.  But it really depends on what cards your getting, how much the bonus is, and what you plan/hope to do with the money.