Author Topic: Paying Off $67k Student Loan Debt  (Read 18333 times)

rjk86

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Paying Off $67k Student Loan Debt
« on: May 20, 2012, 06:34:27 PM »
Alright, so here is my situation:

I went to college for four years and took out ~$65k in student loans.  That was a really bad decision, I know.  I didn't know what I was doing.  They are broken up into 13 different loans ranging from $2.6k to $9.5k.  Unfortunately, the largest loan has an interest rate of 9.25%.  I've been out of college for 3 years now, am 25 years old and I owe $67k.

I've extended the payment plan, and right now my monthly bill for the loans is $560/mo.  My rent is $825/mo, my car is paid off (worth ~$15k), I have no credit card debt and I make $65k/year (When I graduated, I made $45k/year).  I am putting 5% into a 401k plan and my employer matches 4%.

My plan is to pay off the $9.5k @ 9.25% loan (now ~$12k, it's from unsubsidized 2005), by putting an extra $1k/mo towards that loan on top of my $560/mo minimum payment.  If I stay consistent, I think it will be paid off in about 10 months.  Considering that two of the months I will be getting 3 pay checks instead of just 2 and I will also get about $1k back on tax returns.  An annual bonus of $1-3k is also a possibility in late December.

When it is paid off, my minimum payment will be $410/mo.  Then I plan on attacking the smaller loans one at a time, putting an extra $1.15k/mo towards it and so on.

Does this sound like a good plan?  Any suggestions?  I'm pretty much maxed out on how much I can put towards the loan on a monthly basis.  I put $175/week towards "flex cash" which goes towards food, gas, and $50-60 of "fun"/misc.