Author Topic: Paying for Grad School  (Read 4173 times)

Frugalteacher

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Paying for Grad School
« on: September 30, 2013, 12:04:28 PM »
Hey,
     So as you may have guessed from my name I'm a teacher. In order to maintain my teaching license I must begin pursuing a masters degree within the next year or I my license will be suspended ( which means I can't teach). I love my job, but I really don't want to take on any more student loan debt. My plans as of now are to apply for Pell Grants and a research fellowship through my university. Also, once I have some grad school classes done I might try and get a part time TA gig to help supplement the cost. Any other ideas or suggestions to avoid taking on more loans?

Thanks

rebel100

• Stubble
Re: Paying for Grad School
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2013, 12:27:47 PM »
Pell Grants are for Undergrad degrees only so your not going to see any cash there.

I would highly recommend looking into an affordable, regionally accredited, school such as Western Governors University.  http://www.wgu.edu/education/online_teaching_degree?&gclid=CLvH5OXc87kCFSgS7AodyhIAFQ

Your looking at $3200/semester which is a full 6 months long.  Being self paced if you apply yourself you can finish in 2-3 semesters without killing yourself.  I doubt you will find a comparable program as cheap anywhere....and there is opportunity to be quite mustachian in your Graduate Degree approach.

....be sure your system/employer is cool with the online WGU approach....though I'd be shocked if they had an issue with it.

Another option that's online and quite affordable is the MAT from Morningside Collge.  If you took the core during their 1 year rotation and used VESI courses for the remainder the degree should be sub $10K (maybe 6-8K???)  http://grad.morningside.edu/programs.php#mat_pe

Daleth

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2013, 12:31:10 PM »
Hey,