Author Topic: Paying $2040/mo to student loans. Can I profit by refinancing to a longer term?  (Read 6104 times)

Kashmoney21

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hey all,

I'm a 24 year-old living in Chicago. I graduated about 2 years ago from an expensive engineering undergraduate program with about $138K in student loan debt. I received no help from my parents (not that I expected any) so I've been stuck paying off this amount. Thankfully I landed a relatively high paying salary ($77K after bonuses) so I was very aggressive in handling it and continually made payments of a little over $2K/month.

When I first graduated I had a number of individual smaller loans (including Parent Plus loans) that ranged in interest rates from 5% to 8%. I refinanced right away using one of my parents as a cosigner at a 7-year variable rate of 3.8%. Over about the course of a year this had risen to 4.7% and it was absolutely depressing me considering the fact my interest rate kept rising and I still had a balance of about $110K.

About 8 months ago I decided to RE-refinance my loans yet again and because of my great credit and my cosigner I thankfully got an incredible rate of 3.18% FIXED for a 5-year term from a lesser known company (they offered me the best rate they had possible). My monthly payments are now $2040/month for the next 4ish years.

I realized a few days ago though that I could easily make much more than 3.18% on the market if I invested these funds instead. I called up the same loan provider and asked what my options would be for a lower monthly rate. My current balance sits at $98K. These were the two options they gave me:

7-year Fixed: 4.09% with monthly payments of ~$1370

10-year Fixed: 4.45% with monthly payments of ~$1030