Author Topic: Pay student loans: fast or slow?  (Read 2238 times)

MyAlterEgoIsTaller

• Stubble
Pay student loans: fast or slow?
« on: September 06, 2019, 09:18:22 AM »
Hello wise mustache people:  I am very new to this forum, which is because I'm very new to having much "extra" money about which to make decisions.  I have $68k in student loans with a 3.89% interest rate.  I have about $110k left on my mortgage at 2.65%. I have an emergency fund with about $36k in it, which would cover more than 12 months of my living expenses.  I am currently maxing out my 401k and my HSA - but combined they only add up to about $140k, because it's only been so recently that I've been making enough money to do that.  Now I have about $2400 per month "extra" available to do ... something... with.  I would appreciate thoughts as to what I should be doing with that.  Pay off my student loans in 2-3 years (or faster if I put some of my emergency fund into that)?  Or stretch out loans and invest the whole "extra"? Or some combination of those?  Thank you for any thoughts.

JGS1980

• Pencil Stache
Re: Pay student loans: fast or slow?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2019, 11:16:26 AM »
Hello, and Welcome to MMM Forum!

I was in a similar position once upon a time.

1st question -> do you really need a 12 month Emergency Fund? If you have a very stable job, perhaps a 3-6 month fund would do the job for you, and you wouldn't be losing so much to inflation over time.

2nd question -> what's your yearly gross income?

3rd question -> do you have any other tax-advantaged accounts at your job (457?)

Folks here can give you a better answer with more info.

All the best, JGS

MyAlterEgoIsTaller

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2019, 11:39:35 AM »
Hello and thanks for the followup questions.