Author Topic: Pay off the car?  (Read 4171 times)

Taylor

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pay off the car?
« on: September 24, 2012, 10:03:45 AM »
Hello my lovely Mushtachians!
I am seeking some advice, and I am still new to this whole FI things, so I admit I have a lot to learn. But I've been working hard to get my savings rate to an average of 50% (pretty badass considering I make about 26K/year after taxes).

Anyway, back in May I bought a used Prius to downsize from a small SUV and LOVE IT! Saving so much already. I paid about half in cash for it, because I didn't want to totally wipe out my emergency fund, but now I could pay it off. Here's some other considerations:

1. I have in my mind that I'm saving to buy an investment property and I'm SO CLOSE if I keep on adding to the Savings account (about 6 months away)

2. I don't have a 401k, never got an employer match and won't get one (non-profit work...). Maybe I should throw some money into a 401k before the end of the year for the tax deduction? Tax bill this year might hurt because my sole-prop I started last year actually made money this year (yay!)

Current savings is just over 17k.

I owe 9k on the car at 1.9% 5-year loan.

Car payment is $178 per month.

I have student loan debt and a mortgage on my condo, but no other debt.

all opinions/advice is welcome! thanks in advance!

AJ

• Pencil Stache
Re: Pay off the car?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2012, 10:18:39 AM »
Mathematically, it would only make sense to pay it off if you would then reduce your insurance. In that case, it might save you a ton depending on how much insurance your lender requires vs. how much you would buy of your own accord.  You'll have to crunch those numbers. FWIW, we opted to drop comprehensive, but increase our liability coverage because we could cash-flow a replacement vehicle if we totaled ours, but want to make sure our assets are protected in the event of an accident. YMMV.

Matt K

• Bristles
    • Krull Photography