Author Topic: Pay off student loans with home equity loan?  (Read 12729 times)

kballgetlost

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pay off student loans with home equity loan?
« on: March 03, 2012, 06:44:53 PM »
I'm pretty new to financial matters and understanding loans, but I've been pretty mustachian in terms of frugality for quite awhile! Just looking for some advice on how to pay down my ridiculous student loans.

Background: 25 years old, no undergrad loans, two years of grad school (I'm a physician assistant) set me back 110K. I have mixed stafford and grad plus loans. Interest rates are between 6.8 to 8.5 (yikes!). My yearly income is ~89K. I bought my first house in Sept. and my interest on my mortgage is 4.5%. I've been able to pay almost double my loan amount each month but the interest is ridiuclous. Sallie Mae is not offering any loan consolidation at this time.

So my question is could I take out a home equity loan to pay off my student loans and then just pay down the home equity loan each month which would have a much lower interest rate? Do I even qualify for a home equity loan at this point since I'm a fairly new homeowner? Any other suggestions on how to quickly pay off the student loan or at least get a lower interest rate through some other sort of loan? Thanks in advance.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Pay off student loans with home equity loan?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 07:22:45 PM »
I bought my first house in Sept. and my interest on my mortgage is 4.5%...Do I even qualify for a home equity loan at this point since I'm a fairly new homeowner?