Author Topic: Pay off mortgate post divorce?  (Read 8178 times)

JodyGirl

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • FindingFinancialFitness
Pay off mortgate post divorce?
« on: June 27, 2014, 09:42:54 AM »
I'm new to the world of trying to understanding finances and investing.  I can't say I'm a natural in this area---one of those "artistic" types, but I'm trying. 

Here's my dilemma.   I've paid off my student loan (22,000) and other debts post divorce settlement.  Now I'm trying to decide whether it makes more sense for me to re-finance my mortgage or just pay it off. 

Currently I owe 35,000 on my mortgage.  There are 23 years left on this at 6%.  Payments are around 400.00.  The original loan included the heinous PMI as it was a no-down mortgage.  Bad decision, but I was in some very difficult circumstances at the time and just wanted a roof over our heads no matter what and the payment was lower than most rents around where I live. 

I could refinance at 2.75% for 15 years and no PMI and a payment of about 250.00 per month if  I put some down. 

I have about 100,000 left from the settlement and I'm working limited hours  now due to a health situation.  We receive 1000.00 per month in child support.  I'm very nervous about letting go of 35,000 to pay off the mortgage.  And I'm wondering if I would be better off just taking that amount instead and investing it somewhere.  My financial planner thinks that I would be better off to refinance rather than repay and he suggests a mix of Vanguard funds.  These are his suggestions.Here are four suggestions:

Here are four suggestions:

Wellesley Income (Balanced)
Equity Income (Large Cap)
Strategic Equity (Mid-Small Cap)
Global Equity (International)

Honestly, I don't know where to start.  I like to keep things simple.  I'm 51.  I need to make the most of this 100,000 that I have left.  I need to have cash, too, until I can figure out my health and employment situations.