Author Topic: Pay off mortgage or Invest  (Read 6777 times)

mike11

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pay off mortgage or Invest
« on: August 09, 2013, 07:20:58 AM »
Hi all, I am new to MMM and love the site and all the help. 

I need assistant in deciding should I pay off mortgage first or invest?
Here is my situation.
I have about $80K in savings and already putting in 401K for the amount employer is matching.   
Monthly saving is around $2,500 after all expenses.
Mortgage $160K just refinanced to 15yr at %2.99.  Monthly payment is $1902 (tax and insurance included)
I need help deciding from these scenarios.
1.   Pay extra $4000 a month and payoff the mortgage in about 30 months (interest will be paid on mortgage $6,800).  After 30 months start investing around $3,500 monthly. 

2.   Pay extra $3000 a month and payoff the mortgage in about 40 months (interest will be paid on mortgage $8,500).  After 40 months start investing around $3,500 monthly. 

3.   Pay extra $2000 a month and payoff the mortgage in about 55 months (interest will be paid on mortgage $11,400).  After 55 months start investing around $3,500 monthly. 

4.   Don’t pay any extra payment keep the mortgage for 15 years and start investing now. (interest will be paid on mortgage $38,000).  In this situation I would invest about $50K from savings + $2000 month.

I do prefer to get the mortgage out of the way but want to hear what others have to say and how my long term financial goal be affected by each situation. 

Thank you in advance.
Mike

rtrnow

• Bristles
Re: Pay off mortgage or Invest
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2013, 07:33:47 AM »