Author Topic: Pay off debt or save for investing?  (Read 2526 times)

JordanOfGilead

• Bristles
Pay off debt or save for investing?
« on: November 23, 2015, 11:46:35 AM »
I currently have 3 sources of debt.
1- Car loan (before I discovered fiscal responsibility) - 1.9% APR
2- Student loans - ~5% APR (the interest rates are divided into individual loans from each semester I attended school, but are lumped together by my lender under the umbrella of one account. The weighted average APR is about 5%)
3- Personal loan (also before I discovered fiscal responsibility) - 2.99% APR

I am in the process of getting my debt situation under control by maintaining 0 balance on my credit card and making minimum payments on the car and personal loans while dumping all monthly surplus into my student loan. This plan has me on track to be debt free exactly 4 years 11 months from when I graduated from college.

My question is what to do with (un)expected surplus income. An example would be a potential annual performance bonus offered at my company. I have a 401k that I am putting the minimum to get the full company match into and an IRA that I put 10% of my net income into, but I don't have any real savings or investment beyond that since I've been focusing on paying off my debt.
Would it make more sense to take the bonus and put it toward my debt, or to open an index fund account with vanguard?

I'm not sure what kind of returns I should expect on index funds in the next couple years, but my thinking is that they would have to be greater than 5% after inflation to justify investing over paying off my debt sooner. Since there has been a lot of talk of the market taking a dip soon/the fed inevitably increasing their rates, I am leaning toward holding off on investing until I am debt-free.

-Edit-