Author Topic: Pay mortgage down to eliminate PMI?  (Read 11974 times)

jordand1986

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pay mortgage down to eliminate PMI?
« on: September 06, 2014, 02:42:51 PM »
Afternoon ladies and gentlemen. This is my first post in the forum. I discovered the MMM website about a month ago and am pleased to see other people living life like I do. I have always been a saver, diyer, and expense minimizer. After going to grad school and then a 1 year stint with Americorp I took my first job earning a decent salary in December 2011. I graduated college and grad school with no debt, but do feel like I am a little behind in the retirement asset department. I am 28, have about $75,000 in cash and retirement funds (mostly retirement funds). After a bonus I will make roughly $60,000 this year and am on track to save between 40% to 50% of my after tax income. I will teeter between the 25%/15% tax bracket depending on how I finish the year out investing in my 401K. No debt other than a 15 year home mortgage I took out two years ago with a current balance of $85,181 and rate of 2.99%. Now that we have the run down on where I am currently, I am seeking some advice.

My mortgage has monthly PMI cost of $44.01. If I pay the mortgage down by $5,101.38; I will be under 80% loan to value and can eliminate my PMI payment. It is scheduled to reach 80% in exactly a year with normal payments so I would save $528.12 in PMI and $152.53 in interest over the next year by paying this off.  That is a $680.65 return or 13.3%.

My question is, how can I evaluate whether to pay down the mortgage or invest the money in low cost index funds? My initial thoughts are that paying it into the mortgage is a sure win, while investing in stocks might be better in the long run as I can take advantage of compounding (as the PMI is scheduled to end in a year I will only benefit from interest savings in the years after).