Author Topic: Pay down 1% loan or not?  (Read 3113 times)

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
Pay down 1% loan or not?
« on: October 13, 2014, 09:43:20 AM »
I am a graduate student with a young child and my husband is a post-doc.  We had lived so one car until he graduated and got a post-doc position in the closest nearby university (an hour away) and then I bought my aunt's car from her.  When my mom found out I was doing so, she offered to loan me the money at 1% over five years and I accepted because I wanted to pre-pay my student loans that are on deferment but in three years will have a 5.75 interest rate.  Now, I am rethinking it.  Would it be better to not take the loan, and not pay the SLs off until after I graduate? 

Bob W

• Magnum Stache
  • Live on minimum wage, earn on maximum
Re: Pay down 1% loan or not?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2014, 09:59:08 AM »
It appears your mom is essentially giving you a gift.   If you had to borrow the money for a car, that means to me you have very little money saved. 

The priority should be to continue to live as graduate students and save like hell to pay off your debts.  The 1% vs the 5.5% will be of little consequence over the long term, since your goal will be to pay them all off as soon as possible.

Given the options I would pay off mom asap.  Being in debt to family is miserable.   Be sure to have a little cushion saved and then save a lump sum up (while paying her monthly) to pay the entire amount.

You didn't say how much the car was?

MotoMM

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2014, 10:19:08 AM »
I agree with Bob.  Wouldn't feel right being in debt to family, and also probably doesn't make sense to own a car that takes 5 years to pay off.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2014, 10:54:56 AM »