Author Topic: Partnership LLC vs Single Member LLC Employing Spouse  (Read 3740 times)

flashpacker

• Stubble
Partnership LLC vs Single Member LLC Employing Spouse
« on: August 24, 2014, 03:49:32 PM »
Has anyone else researched the pros and cons of a husband/wife business being set up as a partnership LLC vs. as a single member LLC with one spouse employing the other?

I'm trying to figure out which option is better from tax, costs, and simplicity perspectives.

I see in the comments for this post that Mrs MM commented that her and MMM are a partnership LLC http://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2011/06/08/the-joy-of-self-employment/

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Partnership LLC vs Single Member LLC Employing Spouse
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2014, 10:01:47 AM »
I'm no expert but employing one person is a lot of hassle and paperwork that might be avoided if it were a partnership.  Depending on where you are, the various agency filings can add up.  I have to notify 5 different government agencies for every employee.  Then there are the three monthly and quarterly reports for each employee beyond the ones for the business itself.

flashpacker

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2014, 01:42:34 AM »
Thanks - that's useful to consider the extra paperwork. I didn't know it was that bad!

WorkingToBeFIREd

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2014, 07:32:23 AM »