Author Topic: Part 1 - Assessment  (Read 6727 times)

Its All About Value !!!

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Part 1 - Assessment
« on: August 31, 2012, 11:59:36 PM »
Newbie here...

Does anyone have a recommendation for a website or spreadsheet that I can use to get my current situation documented?  Something that keeps with the spirit of this blog?  Or do you all just have your own custom xls files.  Hoping that some sort of template has emerged.  I want to be able to correctly identify my current savings rate and estimate my current trajectory towards financial independence.  I've seen some references in the forum, but nothing that seemed like the one to use.

Thanks!

galaxie

• Bristles
Re: Part 1 - Assessment
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2012, 07:15:48 AM »
Many of us use Mint to track expenses and basic stuff like net worth, but it doesn't have much in the way of projections about the future.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2012, 08:27:22 AM »
I use a combination of Mint, NetWorthIQ, and about 4-8 different spreadsheets for different things (XIRR calculations, time to FI calculations, YMOYL-style progress, housing projections, net worth, etc etc)

www.mrmoneymustache.com/forum/mustachianism-around-the-web/mustachian-web-tools-mint-com/

www.mrmoneymustache.com/forum/mustachianism-around-the-web/mustachian-web-tools-networthiq/

www.mrmoneymustache.com/forum/mustachianism-around-the-web/mustachian-web-tools-your-money-or-your-life-spreadsheets/

I personally wouldn't want to combine all those tools into one gargantuan mess.  All of the all-in-one tools I've seen (such as the one at www.lifespreadsheet.com ) aren't flexible and precise enough for me.  YMMV.

If you clarify what exactly you want to track and why, we can probably help you with a more specific example of the best way to do that (or at least the way we prefer to do it).