Author Topic: Parent who spends too much  (Read 3519 times)

walt61588

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Parent who spends too much
« on: May 03, 2014, 05:01:52 PM »
Relatively new to MMM as a reader and just created account today.

My mother inherited about 850k when her mother passed away in 2003.  Tried to work with her to keep a budget, but she has no value/respect for money and spends it freely.  By this I mean she had left 125k as of April 2014.  My grandfather(her father) just passed away and left another 700k to her and I am concerned she will go through all of that too.  All money is in Vanguard at this point.

I am POA for her along with another brother.  I am an agent for her on the Vanguard account and started a financial plan for her through them for free.  My gf mostly had stocks and not very diversified.

How do you get a parent to stay with in a budget and not overspend every month?  Is this possible?  She has agreed to not write any checks from Vanguard for the time being, but likes to have about $1000 on her at all times.  She earns about $1150 a month with SS and a small pension.  Trying to keep her around 3500 a month instead of 7-8k a month.  House/car paid for so no payments there.

Thanks for any suggestions.

amha

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Parent who spends too much
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2014, 05:12:19 PM »
Could you move all the Vanguard accounts to something like a spendthrift trust (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spendthrift_trust), with you and/or your brother as trustee(s)? That would give you much more control over her spending. If you have power of attorney, that might make it easier to arrange (might it then not require her consent?)

Not to recommend spending more money, but you might want to start looking around for a good estates/trusts attorney who can explain your options. It sounds like reasoning her into a lower level of spending probably won't  work, so if you can control the flow of money to her, you've solved the problem.