Author Topic: Painting- DIY or hire pro?  (Read 19591 times)

lavagirl

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Painting- DIY or hire pro?
« on: February 25, 2017, 10:33:26 AM »
My whole house needs to be painted.  I've been putting this off for over 4 years and it's time to paint.  Keeping in mind that we will not be living here forever, I'm leaning toward hiring someone to paint rather than DIY.  Every time I've painted in the past I've thought "never again!"  Does anyone know about how much I would save painting myself vs hiring someone to paint a 1700square ft townhouse? Do you think it is worth it for a professional paint job when we will sell within a few years?  Honestly, I'd rather spend my time doing something I enjoy or with the kids.

Home Stretch

• Stubble
Re: Painting- DIY or hire pro?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2017, 12:58:31 PM »
I've done the DIY route and the professional route in our home that is about the same size as yours.

When we moved in, we had a painting party where we somehow convinced a bunch of our friends to come over and help us paint the entire inside of the house for four hours followed by copious beer and pizza. I think we were able to pull that off because everyone was still young and still in the "broke college student" mentality, but if you can get some friends to help for the cost of beer and pizza, it's really awesome!

We had to do some touch up and finish a few bits after, but it turned a project that would have spanned 6 weekends into a single weekend thing.

Since then, I've hired professionals to re-do some stuff when we wanted to change colors because, like you, I hate painting. It was about $1,200 for a little under half of our house, but we have a guy who does work really cheaply. Some of the more "legit" painting companies charge twice that.

Linea_Norway

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2017, 02:20:10 PM »