Author Topic: Paid off $60k in a year-ish, but at a cost! A rant, and first apt search tips?  (Read 6792 times)

xenon5

• Stubble
Hey all!

I graduated college a little over a year ago and I've been working and saving since.  I started out the gate with an expensive college diploma thanks to not understanding the value of money at age 17 and voluntary cognitive dissonance until graduation.  I did get a good scholarship but opted for on-campus housing at a university in the middle of pricey NYC.  At least I enjoyed my time and got a good education!

To save up I moved out of NYC after college and into Suburban NJ with my parents.  They're happy to have me here and glad I'm establishing a good financial foundation.  This allowed me to have a huge savings rate with only nominal expenses.  I'm now sitting at -$1k, so I'll be officially net worth positive in 2 weeks!