Author Topic: Outback vs Prius in Colorado - car advice?  (Read 6916 times)

jimmy88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Outback vs Prius in Colorado - car advice?
« on: February 07, 2017, 10:23:15 AM »
I'll keep this short:

Sold my reliable '08 Civic sedan w/100k miles to purchase a '12 Outback w/35k miles before moving up to Denver, CO because I drank the AWD cool-aid.

Currently debating a purchase of a'10 Prius with around 65k miles. Before moving to CO was on my radar I was dead set on a used Prius as my next car, as I enjoy occasional car-camping, and I'm a developer by trade so I like the techy bits.

I am quite outdoorsy and plan to head up to the mountains often, including the occasional dirt road for getting to a trailhead.

I'm asking for advice because I'm not sure if the Prius if up to the task. Switching to a Prius would involve less ground clearance and no AWD. I'd plan to get a set of snow tires for the Prius so I'm not too concerned about driving in the snow.

And the main reason I'd like to switch - ~3-4k invested vs depreciating.

$17,500 Outback total cost after taxes etc.
$15,500 Sell Outback on Craigslist
$2k Lost

~$11,000 Used Prius for $10,000 (including $1,000 state tax title fees etc)

Outback - 17,500
Prius - 11,000
Difference - 4,500 (6,500 - 2,000 lost in sell)
Saved - 4,500

What do y'all think? It'd be great to hear some opinions from Prius owners who live in/near the mountains.

marielle

• Pencil Stache
Re: Outback vs Prius in Colorado - car advice?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 10:44:25 AM »
How much would you save on gas in a year? How much do you drive?

jimmy88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2017, 11:27:32 AM »
How much would you save on gas in a year? How much do you drive?

I work from home, so it's really just adventure trips and around town stuff, maybe like 7500 miles/year?

Outback gets ~25mpg Prius is realistically like ~45mpg?

I'd save a few hundred bucks a year, nothing to write home about.

lbmustache