Author Topic: Online Savings Accounts- Yay or Nay?  (Read 5101 times)

deltabelle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Online Savings Accounts- Yay or Nay?
« on: December 30, 2014, 11:17:17 AM »
I am setting up a budget and some goals through Mint and I do not currently have a savings account.  I would like to open a couple for separate reasons.  Mint is suggesting opening one online through Capital One or FNBO Direct.  I could just as easily set up some at my own bank.  These would be for short-term goals, so I'm not looking to make any money by letting it sit there and collect interest for a long time.

Should I deal with my own bank?  Choose one of these offered through Mint, or are there better options out there?

SmallCheese

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Online Savings Accounts- Yay or Nay?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 11:22:50 AM »
I have been using DiscoverBank for several years. Their service is easy to use and the customer service is great. An additional bonus is they offer a comparatively very high interest rate; I think it's .85% right now. This account is where I direct deposit my paychecks until I buy investments.

BarkyardBQ

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2014, 11:40:05 AM »
Barclay's Online Savings account currently at 1% is good. We use the Dream Account @ 1.05% to hold a small emergency fund. https://www.banking.barclaysus.com/online-savings.html

Spondulix

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2014, 11:42:16 AM »
I used to use American Express personal savings. The interest rate was higher than other savings accounts, but they required another account (checking or savings) to pull from!

Is the idea so you have money somewhere you don't have easy access to?

SantaFeSteve

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2014, 11:56:32 AM »
Yay!

I have had an online account for almost 12 years.  Started with ING and now Capital One. 
The customer service has been better than my brick and mortar bank most of the time, competitive interest rates.