Author Topic: Online adjunct professor as side job?  (Read 8313 times)

Cornmuffin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Online adjunct professor as side job?
« on: July 16, 2014, 02:11:52 PM »
Hey everyone, I've been reading MMM for about a year now but this is my first time posting!  I was reading through the recent large side job thread: http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/ask-a-mustachian/who-has-a-side-gigjob-that-brings-in-extra-cash-share-with-us!/ and noticed a few adjunct professors.  I have been thinking about picking up an adjunct position as a side job and was wondering if any of my fellow mustachians had any experience doing this for online universities.  I know the pay isn't great and I have mixed feelings about for-profit colleges, but an online university would allow me to do the work from home (or anywhere with an internet connection...).  I would actually prefer a 'stricter' place to start with where I have to follow a specific curriculum, since I am not currently comfortable creating my own (yet).  So, if anyone has experience, good or bad, with being an adjunct at any online university, I would love to hear it.

MillenialMustache

• Bristles
Re: Online adjunct professor as side job?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2014, 02:41:38 PM »
Do you have a master's degree? What field is it in?

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2014, 02:46:35 PM »
Regular universities also hire adjuncts because many offer some online classes. The pay really varies from crappy to very good.  I teach one class online a semester & really love it.  If the class is already developed you teach it as is. If not you need to develop it.

CommonCents

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2014, 02:50:06 PM »
I've taught adjunct in person 3 terms (for 2 different classes - Ethics & Business Law, with a class load of 2-3-3) and taught an online Health Law & the ACA Coursera class.