Author Topic: One for the cycling enthusiasts  (Read 7358 times)

Reepekg

• Bristles
One for the cycling enthusiasts
« on: May 08, 2013, 01:30:53 PM »
I have been working from home, but I am looking at/need to take/interviewing for a job 13.8 mi away. Since it's beautiful outside today and I'm looking to up my badassity, I'm thinking about commuting by bike. I live in a pretty urban environment, but I was pleased to find a nice twisty back way through neighborhoods after spending a couple hours on StreetView. This will avoid spending probably an hour sitting in rush hour traffic on 3 of Chicago's worst highways like a clown! And I can cancel the gym membership. Score.

I am a novice cyclist who has only heard of the fancy cycling life. I have a nice enough city bike (Centurion Challenger) which I bought new a few years ago when I commuted 2 miles to work when living in Copenhagen. (I no longer fear rain.) My question is: would there be a significant improvement by upgrading to a road bike?

I'm mostly concerned about two things. 1) My wrists hurt from leaning on the flat handlebars after a while. 2) I want to value the extra cost vs. time saved by a faster bike. (How much faster could I go with better equipment? For fitness evaluation, I'm 28 and run 20+ miles a week)

I'm an engineer and don't mind messing with things. Would it make sense/be possible to outfit my current bike with drop handlebars and clipless pedals? Would I be better off getting a road bike, spandex suit, and teardrop-looking helmet like a pro? Opinions please.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2013, 01:34:33 PM by Reepekg »

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Cast me away from yesterday's things
Re: One for the cycling enthusiasts
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 01:43:42 PM »
You're riding a single-speed road-ish bike with flat bars now? Is it a fixie?