Author Topic: Offered a severance option, should I take it?  (Read 4343 times)

Emg03063

• Bristles
Offered a severance option, should I take it?
« on: May 04, 2013, 07:22:07 AM »
Some background:  I'm a 38 year old engineer, in the midst of a mid-life philosophical crisis, single, no dependents working for a fortune 500 company.  I suffered a debilitating repetitive stress injury last year from which I am currently recovering.  My liquid assets are roughly $500k (~$130k Roth Ira, $130k in 401k, ~25k in cash balance penion plan, and the rest in stock, cash and mutual funds.  Current annual expenses are ~$26k, and I have roommate income currently good for $6k/yr.  Liabilities are $92k on a 5/1 arm at (2.25%), and $30k at 0% I had just borrowed from bank of Dad to close the refinance with negative equity.  I had agreed to repay that at $750/month, and he would in all likelihood be willing to work with me on that (assuming he approves of my decision; I haven't discussed it with him yet).  Also, I just spent $28k on solar panels, for which I am expecting a $5k rebate from the power company.  I had been planning to take advantage of 65% tax credits to justify the return, but that requires some income to have liability to offset against.  I'd like to downshift a little bit, and this may just be the opportunity I've been looking for.  Work has been rewarding, but I haven't been able to meet all of my manager's expectations without sacrificing my recovery, which I don't really want to do.  Current salary is $75k; severance offer is 4 months.  The alternative is a development plan which is a bit burdensome given my current condition.  Other than the home investment, I'm theoretically mobile.  I need to decide this by Monday morning.  Any input, thoughts or questions would be appreciated.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2013, 11:30:36 AM by Emg03063 »

sheepstache

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Offered a severance option, should I take it?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2013, 09:05:40 AM »