Author Topic: Novice question: what happens the year your investments tank?  (Read 10786 times)

moustacheverte

• Stubble
Hi mustachians!

I am new to this and about to move all my savings to indexes mutual funds (mostly) and bonds (10%).

I understand this method produces the best returns over 10 year periods, but since you live on the interests when you are FIREd, what happens when another 2008 hits us? The typical portfolio tanked 20-30% around that time, generating no interest to live on for a year. How do you "live" through that? What money do you live on? If you start eating away at the principal, you will then get less money to spend forever after.

Thanks,
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 06:55:01 AM by moustacheverte »

jlajr

• Stubble
Re: Novice question: what happens the year your investments tank?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2015, 06:08:11 AM »
That's a great question and one I've had myself.

I think MMM might recommend not relying on one asset class (stocks) for all of your planned post-FIRE, pre-pension income. If you diversify into bonds, real estate, or lending clubs (just examples; I'm not recommending anything), then you might be able to mitigate stock index volatility.

Also, he might say that, because you will have already built in so much cushion into your stash and lifestyle, you should be able to lower your monthly expenses when necessary.

moustacheverte

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2015, 06:18:38 AM »
I understand this method produces the best returns over 10 year periods
Sorry to burst your bubble but if that is the case you don't understand or are very unspecific by what you mean with best returns.

That is indeed my understanding. On a given year, you might do +10% or -20% but in the longer term (i.e. 10 year periods) you'll get about 7% per year before inflation.

If I misunderstood, please do burst my bubble and give more explanations so I avoid a potentially costly mistake?

nereo

• Senior Mustachian