Author Topic: Not Financially Savvy Nurse looking for Advice  (Read 4267 times)

wimpygirl

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Not Financially Savvy Nurse looking for Advice
« on: December 22, 2017, 04:57:44 PM »
Not financially savvy but wondering if I am ready to retire and would appreciate any advice for my current life course.

Hey, my name is Kate and I am a 46 year old nurse who is really, really ready for a life change!  I am looking for financial advice to make sure I am on the right track.  I own a house in the woods and have zero debt.  I am also pretty frugal.  I am outdoorsy, love to mountain bike, kayak and listen to music for fun.  I make necklaces and bracelets, like to garden and make herbal medicines.  Unless I indulge in travel, I live off between $800-$1000 a month, so usually less than $12,000 a year.  (I read Your Money or Your Life when I was 25 and have been keeping track of every penny like a boss.)

About a year ago, I decided I really (really!) disliked my job and wondered about taking a sabbatical.  I have worked as a nurse since I was 20 and feel like nursing is draining my soul!  Knowing nothing about money or investing, I started educating myself about the 4% rule, read all of MMM's posts, and read JLCollins' book.  From this self-education, I surmised that I could actually retire early and needed to save $300,000 to live off.  Luckily I had already amassed about $170,000 from haphazard contributions to my hospital's 403b.  Over the last year I have put additional savings into a Vanguard VTSAX
fund and started a Roth.  Now I am at about $295,000.

What do I do now?  I am planning on working another couple months to
reach the $300,000 goal and stashing the rest (probably $15,000) in my
checking account to live off of for the next year. Eventually I will start a Roth conversion ladder when I get that figured out.