Author Topic: non-subscription image archive programs (alt. to Adobe Lightroom)  (Read 3941 times)

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
To all serious photographers out there (enthusiasts, pros, hobbiests)

Given Adobe's direction with Lightroom CC (and the pending 'death' of v.6 a-la end of upgrades) I'm looking for a good alternative for image archiving and post-processing that is non-subscription.

Personal background: currently an enthusiast who occasionally does shoots as a side gig; library is around 40k images shared across multiple SSDs. I've been using LR for 4+ years after (painfully) switching over from Aperture. Running Mac OS 10.12 (sierra). Briefly tried (and didn't like Carousel) I do a fair bit of post-processing and shoot raw + jpeg; "Photos" just doesn't cut it for me.
I hate the idea of perpetually paying Adobe $10/mo + another $20-$50/mo for the additional storage (2GB - 5GB) I'd need to be cloud based and have access to my library. That could quickly add up to an unfathomable (to me) annual cost of $720 - not very mustachian.
While cloud-based can be nice, I tend to do all my editing from my primary computer.

I'll be sticking with LR v6 until I can find a better option that doesn't have a subscription service).  Macphun put out a teaser but to me that's entirely untested terriroty.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2017, 09:03:30 AM by nereo »

Daley

• Magnum Stache
  • Still kickin', I guess.
Re: non-subscription image archive programs (alt. to Adobe Lightroom)
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2017, 08:59:25 AM »
Not wanting to assume what platform you're currently running, I'll lay out the best candidate true alternatives in no particular order that I know of (all are fully Windows/Mac/Linux cross-platform, excuse one):

RawTherapee (OSS - free)
Corel AfterShot Pro (proprietary - 30 day free trial, $80USD, though currently on sale for $55)
digiKam (OSS - free)