Author Topic: No minimum Index Fund  (Read 3209 times)

MrWindUpBird

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
No minimum Index Fund
« on: June 29, 2014, 09:11:32 PM »
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the site and am looking for investing advice. I am a recent graduate with very little funds working an unpaid internship (hooray). I still want to start investing my savings from the little money I'm living on now, but there is no way I'll be able to meet Vanguard's minimum investment of $3000 for its TSMX fund.

I'm wondering if anyone knows a good total market index fund I can invest in for now that has a lower minimum, even of say $2000. I don't want my money to go to waste just sitting in my account but I also don't want to make a crappy investment. So help is appreciated!

rmendpara

• Pencil Stache
Re: No minimum Index Fund
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2014, 09:27:49 PM »
A broadly diversified fund will be best, and Vanguard/Fidelity are considered tops in low-fee funds. Look through the list of funds, I believe there are some with lower minimums than $3k.

Over the long-term, assuming you don't greatly increase your income, your overall success will depend much more on how frugal you are and how consistently you save & invest rather than making crazy gains in the market.

Given your low investable assets, I would just save up in a savings account until you can hit the $3k minimum. A few months here or there isn't going to make a huge difference on such a small balance.

I'm not sure what your budget is, and how much you project to be able to save each month, but I might even skip investing for the time being until I had some solid backup savings put away and a steadier job situation.

slugline

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2014, 09:31:56 PM »
Looked into exchange-traded funds (ETFs) yet? I think you can buy into those with much lower minimums.