Author Topic: No idea what I want to do for a career  (Read 6740 times)

Zoe

• Bristles
No idea what I want to do for a career
« on: March 29, 2013, 11:10:44 AM »
I really want to go back to school. The problem is, I have no idea what for. I don't have a huge interest in anything. I want to up our income while keeping our frugal lifestyle. I currently work part time and have a 1.5 year old. I figure if I can go to school over the next couple years, I'll be graduating by the time the little one is school age. I have an Associates degree so many courses will transfer. Something that could eventually be done on a freelance basis, once FIRE, would be nice.

I'm not into computers, so that's out.
I like being more behind the scenes.
I'm not good at math.
I don't like retail.
I like researching.
I like figuring things out.
I do like the legal/law field.

I took one of those personality career quizzes and among other things, which I don't remember, it said my personality fit management, accounting, and police officer. None of those sound particularly appealing.

What do you guys do? What do you like & dislike about your careers?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: No idea what I want to do for a career
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2013, 11:20:59 AM »
Do you like to interact with people, or no?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Donovan

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 11:21:07 AM »
If you're interested in law, have you considered being a paralegal? I'm not sure that their's a freelance market for it, but it's essentially legal research a lot of the time (and lots of typing).

spider1204

• Stubble