Author Topic: Newbie to forum with Extra Cash  (Read 7087 times)

kcore2000

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Newbie to forum with Extra Cash
« on: March 09, 2015, 09:08:08 AM »
Hey there, I'm a newbie to MMM and like what I see so far. Here is my situation. I'm a 30 yr old who has recently purchased a house, so I currently have the following setup ...

• Mortgage Loan (25% Down, No PMI, 75% LTV)
  • 401(k) via Employer
  • 10k in an Emergency Fund (0.80%)
  • 15k Extra in a Credit Union (0.80%)

I feel that the "Extra" 15k could be more profitable else where. Anyone have any suggestions or advice?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 10, 2015, 07:13:28 AM by kcore2000 »

ShoulderThingThatGoesUp

• Magnum Stache
Re: Newbie to forum with Extra Cash
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 09:11:23 AM »
Need more details - are you paying PMI right now and that money could get you closer to 80% LTV? Do you have other debts? Are you maxing your 401k? What income bracket are you in; does putting it in a tIRA for tax benefits make sense? Still time to do that for 2014.

Two9A

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • On the long road to zero net worth
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 09:12:15 AM »
Welcome to the forum! A lot of people recommend index-tracking funds or low-cost managed funds; Vanguard are the most recommended provider of the latter. I have some cash in a Vanguard LifeStrategy fund myself, 40% stocks and 60% bonds automatically managed by Vanguard.

I don't know how IRAs work, since I'm in England, but there's very likely a way you can put all of that 15k to work in a fund of some kind.

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2015, 09:23:43 AM »
Are you maxing out your 401k?  If not, you might want to add more to it, to prevent the "too much cash" issue from coming up again.

I'd start a Roth IRA too, and you can contribute some of that extra cash to it.

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2015, 09:42:17 AM »